11 questions with the cast of After Miss Julie: Kieran Bew

First up in our After Miss Julie  cast series is Kieran Bew. You may recognise him from the acclaimed Reasons to be Pretty (Almeida). He’s also been in Almeida’s The Knot of the Heart and Trevor Nunn’s production of Richard II at the Old Vic). Films he’s been in includes Green Street, Alien vs Predator, King Lear and recent British indie film 1-2-3-4.

Tell us about your character.
John is an ambitious, dedicated, butler and valet. He works on Miss Julie’s estate for her father.

Favourite word?
Crocodile

Proudest moment?
Winning the British cadet epee championship.

If you could have a room full of any one thing, what would it be?
Parsons Terrier puppies.

If 28 hour days existed, what would you do with the extra four hours?
Talk to my family.

Favourite holiday?
Greece with my lady.

Weirdest quirk?
I’m clumsy… I could trip over my feet in bed…

If you had one super power, what would it be?
To shape shift. I believe this will cover a wide range of abilities.

Do you have any regrets?
Piano… I should have learned to play the piano… (looks out of window wistfully).

Favourite midnight snack?
Roast potatoes with mature cheese.

Since working on After Miss Julie (Classics for a New Climate)…
I turn lights off when I leave rooms now – before the production I often left a room well-lit.

After Miss Julie starts tomorrow and we’ve added an extra week of performances so it now plays until 14 April. Buy your tickets now >>

Leave a Reply

