Q’s with the cast of In the Penal Colony: Amer Hlehel

(Right) Amer in In the Penal Colony

You may recognize Amer from ShiberHur Theatre Company of Palestine‘s visit to the Young Vic last year where he was hailed for his acclaimed performance as Yusuf  in I Am Yusuf and This is My Brother. He was also in Paradise Now, the Golden Globe winner of Best Foreign Language Film a few years ago!

Tell us about your character
He is very lonely and very loyal. And is sure he is protecting the interests of humanity.

Favourite word?
Wow – which I can use in all languages and it means what I want it to mean at any given moment.

Proudest moment?
Every time I fly I am proud because I defy gravity and that makes me feel like an angel.

If you could have a room full of any one thing, what would it be?
Whisky. It would be nice to have a glass and ice.

If 28 hour days existed, what would you do with the extra four hours?
Sleep 4 more hours.

(Right) Amer in I Am Yusuf and This Is My Brother

Favourite holiday?
Sinai – sun, desert and a lot of smoking.

Weirdest quirk?
Being an actor is quirky enough.

Favourite play?
Richard II. Although I am still waiting for Richard IV.

If you had one super power, what would it be?
To walk real fast… but real fast!!!

Do you have any regrets?
A lot – I eat falafel instead of having kebab that kind of thing.

Favourite midnight snack?
Everything, whatever there is in fridge, I devour.

In the Penal Colony starts from 11 July and runs until 23 July. It is part of Shubbak, London’s first ever celebration of culture from across the Arab World, presented by the Mayor of London.

Click here to see production photos and here to read more + buy tickets now!

Leave a Reply

