11 questions with the cast of Wild Swans: Orion Lee

Orion Lee (Shou Yu) with Isabelle Wang (Er-Hong as child)

First up in our Wild Swans cast series is Orion Lee, who plays Shou Yu, the male lead of the show.

Tell us about your character and about working on Wild Swans.
I play Shou Yu, an idealist. Working on Wild Swans has made me feel more in touch with my heritage. It is also very satisfying to hear of people’s personal connections to the play.

Favourite word?
‘Pachoinka’ as used by Ramin Gray of ATC.

Proudest moment?
Making people laugh at a play reading at LAMDA.

If you could have a room full of any one thing, what would it be?
£100 bills because then I could get anything else. Failing that… cakes.

If 28 hour days existed, what would you do with the extra four hours?
Play more computer games and meet more people. Antithetical, I know.

Favourite holiday?
Seeing my family.

Weirdest quirk?
Probably for others to say, but people tell me I’m always eating when they see me.

Favourite play?
All My Sons by Arthur Miller as done by Suchet and Wanamaker.

If you had one super power, what would it be?
To read minds.

Do you have any regrets?
Not so much regrets as a lack of surety that I’ve made the right choice.

Favourite midnight snack?
KFC – one thigh portion.

Wild Swans (part of World Stages London) plays at the Young Vic until 13 May. Tickets are sold out but we do get returns… call 020 7922 2922 on the day for availability.

Leave a Reply

