11 questions with the cast of Wild Swans: Celeste Den

Celeste Den as Comrade Ting

Working on Wild Swans has allowed me to explore the opposite perspective of the Chinese Civil War. Growing up with Nationalist grandparents, I never questioned the validity of their opinion and experience, so it was eye-opening to immerse myself in the history of the other side.

Tell us about your character
Ting devotes her entire life to finding a place of value for herself. All she wants is to be important and loved.

Favourite word?
Nuance.

Proudest moment?
When I really go after something and give it my all – to have done the very best that I can do.

If you could have a room full of any one thing, what would it be?
Puppies.

If 28 hour days existed, what would you do with the extra four hours?
Spend an extra few minutes chatting with people throughout the day i.e. the barista, the mail clerk, the security guard at Tesco, the person behind me in a queue… also to catch-up regularly with family and friends.

Favourite holiday?
Halloween. Everyone plays.

Weirdest quirk?
I fold candy or gum wrappers until it’s as thin as possible and then tie it in a knot. My only unconscious OCD habit.

Favourite play?
Tom Stoppard’s Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead

If you had one super power, what would it be?
Flying.

Do you have any regrets?
Buy me dinner and drinks and I’ll tell you…

Favourite midnight snack?
Chocolate anything.

Wild Swans (part of World Stages London) plays at the Young Vic until 13 May. Tickets are sold out but we do get returns… call 020 7922 2922 on the day for availability.

Leave a Reply

