11 Questions with Sizwe Banzi is Dead’s Taio Lawson

Matthew Xia and Taio Lawson,  Sizwe Banzi is Dead’s Trainee Assistant Director answers our 11 Questions….

If you had to pick a favourite line from the play, which one would it be and why?
‘Her husband got arrested for that thing… I’ll tell you about it later.’ – Because it opens up a story that is never concluded. I love it.

What is your favourite midnight snack?
I can’t eat that late anymore! Got love handles to lose. However, the food I dream of at midnight is Häagen-Dazs vanilla ice cream.

What is your favourite word?
Obfuscation. As it seems to best describe my general, everyday state of mind.

What are you most passionate about?
There are too many things! I can’t answer this without seeming facetious.

If days were 28 hours long, what would you do with the extra 4 hours?
Fill them with appreciation of all my guilty pleasures. I would listen to Hounds of Love on repeat, watch Love Actually and as much of The Lord of the Rings as possible. And read a Lemony Snicket book. Who said men can’t multitask?

If you could be in a room full of any one thing, what would it be?
Cup cakes from Magnolia Bakery in New York.

Favourite holiday you’ve ever been on?
Stromboli, Italy. With my brother and father. Seeing that beautiful volcano.

Favourite city and why?
Paris. Bars are open later and it smells like the same french man has gone around the city peeing on everything. I love his dedication to the cause.

What is your favourite song?
Absolutely impossible to pick. But at the moment I have two. The Lottery by The Stepkids and The Memory by Roy Ayres.

If you could have been born in any era, which would it be and why?
In the late 40s/early 50s so I could have my teens and twenties in the 60s/70s. The music was just too damn good! I would go to so many gigs! Hendrix, Miles Davis, Bobbi Humphreys, Chich, Stanley Clark, Marvin… the list goes on!

If you could have any one supernatural power which would you choose and why?
To be able to control electronic appliances. That way I could turn on my boiler from my bed when I’m trying to get cosy. Or turn the TV off without having to search for the remote, which I always lose. In fact, the ability to always find the remote control!

Taio Lawson is supported through the Boris Karloff Trainee Directors Programme at the Young Vic.

Sizwe Banzi is Dead is on now until 15 March at the Young Vic. Click here to book now or find out more

Leave a Reply

